Reynolds Earns Silver Slugger Nomination; Pirates Name Minor League Award Winners

The Pittsburgh Pirates kicked off three days of minor league award presentations on Tuesday morning by name their Staff-of-the-Year, as well as the Danny Murtaugh Coach-of-the-Year award and the Manny Sanguillen Teammates-of-the-Year winners. There was also news from yesterday for Bryan Reynolds, who was named as a finalist for the Sliver Slugger award.

Reynolds hit .302/.390/.522 in 159 games this season, with 35 doubles, eight triples, 24 homers and 75 walks. He led the league in triples, and finished seventh in average, fourth in OBP, seventh in OPS and seventh in doubles. He finished third in offensive WAR.

The winners will be announced on MLB Network on November 11th at 6:00 PM

As for the minor league awards, Greensboro was named as having the best coaching staff. They were led by manager Kieran Mattison, pitching coach Matt Ford and hitting coach Ruben Gotay.

Indianapolis pitching coach Joel Hanrahan won the Danny Murtaugh award for the top coach. He has moved up from Bristol to Indianapolis over five seasons in the system.

The Manny Sanguillen teammates award winners were:

Bligh Madris, Indianapolis

Josh Bissonette, Altoona

Aaron Shackelford, Greensboro

Logan Hofmann, Brandenton

Tomorrow the Pirates will announce the slugger, reliever, defender and base runner of the year awards, which are named after Willie Stargell, Kent Tekulve, Bill Mazeroski and Omar Moreno respectively.

On Thursday they will name the Honus Wagner Player-of-the-Year and Bob Friend Pitcher-of-the-Year award winners.